View Poll Results: Did you wear protective gear when learning on the skatboard?

Voters
17. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

4 23.53%
  • No

11 64.71%
  • Sometimes/Give reason e.g learning certain tricks

2 11.76%

Title

Smile Did you ever wear protective gear when you began to learn skateboarding??

-So I started learning how to skateboard (if thats the correct term) a few days ago, and I had my first fall which hurt! I fell and grazed my right elbow and right shoulder. After the fall happend, I was moving a little bit safer on the board as the initial fall made me a little scared and cautious.

-Which got me wondering wether I should buy protective gear, and for what body parts. Just for the wrists?, definitely a helmet to project your skull? But I dont want to look like a complete idiot like I have pampered myself in protective gear head to toe.

-People say that if you learn with protective gear, when it comes to taking it off you will be more scared to skate as you dont have padding to help if you fall!

Q: When you started learning on the skateboard, did you wear protective gear?

Title

I wear this, but you cannot see, that I also wear padded shorts under my normal shorts.
    Most times I also wear a bike helmet.
    / Henning
    It's never to late to skate.

Title

Nope. I wore knee pads once but it was just a waste of time.

Rooster Cockburn: Club of Cool Kids member and overly-zealous COCK worshipper

Quote Originally Posted by Mumford and Dragons View Post
    Q: When you started learning on the skateboard, did you wear protective gear?
    No, I was twelve and didn't wear shit, but now that I'm almost thirty I do wear a helmet and wrist guards.
    I could care less if people think I look like an idiot, I'm a machinist and if I really screw up my hands or wrists I'm fucked.