Title

Default Skaters that didn't have skate parks, what did you do?

To start off I have never done any skating before so I will be learning the basics an basic tricks likely around my own home, however as I get better I will not have anywhere to skate. I am 21 years old so I can drive wherever I want to, but the nearest skate park is nearly 50 miles away which is almost an hour drive (nearest skate shop is that far too). So to anyone that dealt with this in the past, did you just skate on the street and in parking lots? My town unfortunately says that skateboarding is prohibited entirely on public property but that basically just means sidewalks and streets I figure. Thanks for any advice. Still waiting on my board but I am looking forward to finally getting started after wanting to learn all these years.

Title

I skate on the terrace at my house.

And at the street in front of my house.
    Here in Denmark, skating is like walking, where you are allowed to walk, you can skate.
    Skaters are liked and respected here.
    / Henning

Title

Depending on your location, wherever there is concrete, you should be able to find a small secluded spot. Explore your surroundings in walking distance in all directions.
    360 Flip!

Title
    Respected User

i was a big driveway skater. my dad helped out by building a box to grind on and a small ramp
    Quote Originally Posted by DontHateJustSkate View Post
    fucking old people so quick to judge but so slow to walk

Title

look for abandoned parking lots and bring a broom to sweep up pebbles and if you have the time build a diy spot at the abandoned parking lot

Title
    Respected User

curb rat for the firsrt few years of boarding, really helps to get good control along with flat ground, and Ollieing over random objects. Now I skate parks allot as well and I think not skating at a park helped build my 'base'.

Title
    Rook'