Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 64
  1. #1
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default Computer not working cant fap now

    So my windows 7 PC has a BSOD that referred to a voltage shader error and I was trying to fix that, but then my computer kept freezing at the error recovery screen every time I tried to push a button on keyboard of if I let the timer expire on start normal. I had the PC overclocked some so I thought the resetting the CMOS would help that but nope. Now I can't get past the error recovery to fix the voltage shader. What do?

  2. #2

    Title
    Perma Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Ok

  3. #3
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    Thnx bruh.

  4. #4

    Title
    Seattle Freeze
    Join Date
    Apr 2071
    Location
    i make tracks like im homeless
    Posts
    29,749

    Default

    Try unplugging everything from the motherboard then replacing it back in, it seems like it could be a graphics problem.

    Are you running a video card or motherboard graphics?

  5. #5

    Title
    Seattle Freeze
    Join Date
    Apr 2071
    Location
    i make tracks like im homeless
    Posts
    29,749

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by king View Post
    how long have you had it? try just cleaning all the dust out of the machine. I've fixed a few similar BSOD issues just by doin that. Fair warning though, if you remove the ram or anything while you do it you probably have to reset BIOS after
    Why would you need to reset the BIOS?

  6. #6
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    I was gonna remove and replace the items from the motherboard next. I have two Radeon 6870s in crossfire. If the motheboard idea doesn't work I was gonna make a boot CD on campus tomorrow and update all the drivers. Computer works fine in BIOS but freezes without fail when trying to boot Windows.

  7. #7
    DontHateJustSkate's Avatar
    Title
    olwXcrew
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IN THE ENDZ.
    Posts
    8,642

    Default

    ye voltage shader def sounds like gpu try booting with one of them (try both separate just to be sure), in situations like that it's always best to remove everything and try booting with barebones ie one stick of ram and integrated graphics then keep adding and see if it replicates

    either that or 7 fucked itself which wouldnt surprise me


  8. #8
    DontHateJustSkate's Avatar
    Title
    olwXcrew
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IN THE ENDZ.
    Posts
    8,642

    Default

    id prolly make a linux live usb, if that boots and works then grab all your shit off the windows drive and do a clean install (just grab a msdn windows 7 iso off tpb and use dazs loader)


  9. #9
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    Thanks for the ideas y'all. I'll fiddle with it some tonight so see where I stand with the GPUs.

  10. #10
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    Forgot to answer King; I've had it 5 years, needs a bit of cleaning which I am doing now. No integrated graphics LML, tried with each GPU seperately with various RAM combinations, same results still fucked.

  11. #11
    DontHateJustSkate's Avatar
    Title
    olwXcrew
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IN THE ENDZ.
    Posts
    8,642

    Default

    in that case id def make a live linux usb and test it and if that shit works its most likely a windows/driver error


  12. #12
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    That's the plan tomorrow. I'm sure as old as it is it could stand o have the drivers updated.

  13. #13

    Title
    Seattle Freeze
    Join Date
    Apr 2071
    Location
    i make tracks like im homeless
    Posts
    29,749

    Default

    Have you had the same operating system for 5 years? No fresh reinstalls or anything?

  14. #14
    Larz's Avatar
    Title
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Southbank, London
    Posts
    7,358

    Default

    But, Crail, all you need to fap is your imagination! Follow you're heart and make you're dreams come true and you're soldier hard

    Rooster Cockburn: Club of Cool Kids member and overly-zealous COCK worshipper

  15. #15
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    Yeah SCLZ same OS the whole time, no reinstalls.

    Still freezes right as I try to boot from CD or USB. I changed the boot order in BIOS but once I get to when it gives me the initial options it just freezes when I try to do anything. What do? Should I disconnect some of my SATA connections to see if there is any problems there?

  16. #16
    DontHateJustSkate's Avatar
    Title
    olwXcrew
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IN THE ENDZ.
    Posts
    8,642

    Default

    ye unplug drives and try to boot from usb then

    does the board have integrated gpu? try that shit also


  17. #17
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    No integrated GPU m8

  18. #18
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    Tried with just my one non-blu ray CD/DVD drive and just from USB, still same problem.

    If bios is working my motherboard should OK right? I'm a bit lost now. The GPUs do run when PC starts

  19. #19
    DontHateJustSkate's Avatar
    Title
    olwXcrew
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IN THE ENDZ.
    Posts
    8,642

    Default

    whats the specific bsod error? i'd start there imo but voltage shader def throws it towards either power or gpu error


  20. #20

    Title
    Seattle Freeze
    Join Date
    Apr 2071
    Location
    i make tracks like im homeless
    Posts
    29,749

    Default

    You think his HD is just taking a shit?

    try to boot up an OS off a disk or a USB

    http://www.boot-disk.com/

  21. #21
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    @DHJS: That was the last BSOD but the restart after that I was able to actually boot it and it worked for a bit then took the crap that I am in now where I can literally do nothing.

    @SCLZ: I tried that, I have both a live CD and USB, it still freezes every time I tryt boot. I even did it with just CD drive and USB isolated with all the other SATA connections removed.

  22. #22

    Title
    Seattle Freeze
    Join Date
    Apr 2071
    Location
    i make tracks like im homeless
    Posts
    29,749

    Default

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDGjWOabJ2E

    Check to see if your capacitors and transistors are blown??



    You can do the sniff test and put your face up to the motherboard to see if you smell anything, it should smell like burnt toast or similar.

  23. #23
    crailtap's Avatar
    Title
    Desert dreams
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    13,546

    Default

    Looks and smells normal.

  24. #24

    Title
    Seattle Freeze
    Join Date
    Apr 2071
    Location
    i make tracks like im homeless
    Posts
    29,749

    Default

    Try removing all your external cards, video cards sound cards ram sticks (all of them) possibly remove the cable for the disk drive and remove your cmos battery.



    Turn your PC on once and let it boot through the process of start up, you'll get your standard beeps with no OS. Then apply the ram and disk drive cables and turn on, let us know from there what happens.

    I am starting to think your power supply is bad, just be warned removing your CMOS battery will mean your passwords and everything else saved on your PC is cleared out. Which means you'll have to reset your BIOS stuff if you had anything different.

  25. #25
    cheese_wigger's Avatar
    Title
    Respected User
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,881

    Default

    It's weird that it only happens when you start booting up. Have you fucked around with the BIOS to see if there's any other (maybe graphics related) options you can change? Also, if the problem doesn't end up getting solved here, check www.techsupportforum.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •