Thread: Bass help

Title
    soldier of the streets

Default Bass help

How would some more advanced bassists recommend learning and staying consistent?

I have some guitar background, and a little acoustic too.

How did you learn? What are some good, basic songs to learn first?

Title
    Respected User

Just get sheet music, or tabs which are more readily available, from bands you like, and if it looks like you can play it, give it a shot. Once you get good enough you won't even need the tabs. I've been playing bass for about 7 years and I still do the same exact thing, it never gets old for me.

You can also try different techniques when you think you're ready. There are soooo many great things you can do on a bass, slapping, two hand tapping, harmonics basically anywhere on the string if you're good with harmonics, it's endless.

Title

just find songs that you like, learn them, maybe learn some music theory
    http://www.skateboard-city.com/messa...d.php?t=124159

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Rate me please

Title
    soldier of the streets

Quote Originally Posted by sucka mothafcka stopper View Post
    Just get sheet music, or tabs which are more readily available, from bands you like, and if it looks like you can play it, give it a shot. Once you get good enough you won't even need the tabs. I've been playing bass for about 7 years and I still do the same exact thing, it never gets old for me.

You can also try different techniques when you think you're ready. There are soooo many great things you can do on a bass, slapping, two hand tapping, harmonics basically anywhere on the string if you're good with harmonics, it's endless.
    I can't read sheet music, but I do have a box of a couple tabs. I've already gotten into a little bit of slapping, and that brings me to my next point.