PDA

View Full Version : Learning bass??

ToxicSkater
12-09-2006, 01:28 PM
Ok, so I want to start playing bass.
What kind should I get?
I don't want to spend a lot on one just incase I decide later on that I don't really want to play.
Is Rogue or Ibanez any good for beginners?
I've seen some on eBay for like 160$ for the bass, amp and accesories.
Would that be good?

I'm really new to all this stuff so I need some help.

Vivica
12-09-2006, 02:14 PM
Ibanez do good starter kits... most starter kits are pretty ***** but theirs aren't bad, i know a few people who still use their starter bass but just with a new amp.

ToxicSkater
12-09-2006, 03:54 PM
Ok, thanks.
I'll keep that in mind.

UnDeRgRoUnD NeTwOrK
12-09-2006, 03:56 PM
I'd say a squier starter kit. I used mine for around 2 years.

dain84
12-09-2006, 06:13 PM
Just go to a guitar shop and try out all the basses in your price range. You'll know when you've found the right one.

RwithTF
12-09-2006, 08:14 PM
I say a Ibanez starter kit for now. But then soon get some Fender shit going on and I just got a new Gallien-Krueger SBX 4x10 amp with the Backline 600 head.
It's fucking sex.

Skater_goth
12-09-2006, 10:14 PM
I got a cheapy bass off ebay for my first one, but I regret it, because the strings are raised really high and when I don't press the frets really hard it buzzs with the metal(I think I can fix it). I think that bass is cool.

ToxicSkater
12-10-2006, 07:02 AM
What about Rogues?
I played my friends the other day and it had a pretty solid sound and feel.
I found their starter kits for around 170$.

dutch madman
12-12-2006, 02:01 AM
i bought a dean playmate yesterday, it's a really decent starters bass, not to pricey too, i;d suggest you'd go check them out, i believe they are about 149 $, with amp

leavemealone
12-12-2006, 06:34 AM
Go to a pawn shop and buy a bass. Thats what I did for my first bass. It was great too. I got it for 125$. And then I bought a little 15 watt amp for 80$.