PDA

View Full Version : Gartar players, I call upon thee to remedy my embarrassingly little knowledge of amps

the_unknown_soldier
06-18-2012, 12:59 PM
Okay, so I'm looking into getting a new amp in the near future. I've been using a Line 6 (I know, I know) for the last six years, and I think I'm ready to move on. Of course, everybody that I know is a tube amp purist, as I understand a lot of you are as well. And I'm not ready to decline my invite to hop on that ship yet, but I'd still like to know what I'm getting into.

Despite its reputation, the one thing I always liked about my Line 6, along with other solid state amps, is the amount of various settings and tones I can make without having to invest in a ton of pedals. Also, they're relatively cheap.

So in short, I just want some input on the matter, and I'd like to find some tube amps that have a range of sounds and don't cost a shit ton. The closest I've found is a tube/solid state hybrid that I was liking: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/amplifiers-effects/vox-valvetronix-vt80-80w-1x12-guitar-combo-amp/h68251000001000?src=3WWRWXGB&cagpspn=pla&gclid=CP7YyI_T2LACFQrf4Aodbi1b0w

So, let's talk!

the_unknown_soldier
06-18-2012, 01:17 PM
Funny you mention that, before I started asking around about tube amps I was looking into the Mustang III. Seems way better than any other solid state that I've played. (Way better than my Line 6, anyway.) And for it's price and what I'm looking for it looks extremely enticing.

Every review I've seen has even earned praise from tube purists as well.

riskitforabiscuit
06-18-2012, 03:21 PM
I have a Vox Valvetronix and I am very happy with it. It's perfect for getting basically any sound you'd want. Of course it's not going to sound the same as a full tube amp, but I can guarantee you'll be happy with it if you like versatility and being able to screw around with different sounds and effects and stuff.