PDA

View Full Version : overdrive pedal

happy-skateboarding
08-28-2008, 06:12 PM
this is my deal, i started playing acuustic guitar about a year ago, and a month or two ago i started playing electric guitar, so my question is what is a good/cheap distortion or overdrive pedal or whatever its called

timorousme
08-28-2008, 07:17 PM
Depends on what kind of sound you want and what style you play. Distortion pedals are usually harsher than overdrive pedals. Overdrive pedals are usually smoother and give a more "natural" sound.

I use a Voodoo Lab Sparkle Drive and cannot recommend it enough. It has a clean knob that allows you to blend your clean signal with your overdriven signal, allowing you to dial in just the right amount for what you want.

kristian
08-28-2008, 08:05 PM
overdrive and distortion are compeltely different things mang

timorousme
08-28-2008, 08:23 PM
No, they aren't. Overdrive is a type of distortion.

kristian
08-28-2008, 08:34 PM
well i guess they're the same thing in the sense that they both distort your sound to a dirtier sound, but typically they're used in different ways dude. Overdrive is often used like, overtop of a distortion to give it a boost, as well as over a clean channel with low drive to boost that.

Overdrive is more of a boost, whereas distortion is like, the whole sound.

timorousme
08-28-2008, 08:43 PM
I believe that you're getting overdrive confused with gain.

kristian
08-28-2008, 08:49 PM
not at all.
quite rarely have i seen, or personally used overdrive for the effect itself rather than to showcase and boost something else

timorousme
08-28-2008, 10:21 PM
Alright, I'm going to get technical here, so sorry if you get lost.