PDA

View Full Version : Metal/Hardcore Vocals

tony777
09-21-2007, 07:00 PM
I also want to learn vocals such as screamign and growling...does anyone know a good website that explains how pretty thoroughly?

Marevix
09-21-2007, 07:10 PM
My (poorly organized and repetitive) guide to screams/growls from April (http://rapidshare.com/files/38352843/screaming.mp3). This one was made for a dude who PM'd me.

I might make a new one with advice for adding roughness/abrasiveness to clean voices. I'm not very good at it yet, but I'm working on a thrash metal vocal similar to early Slayer and Destruction.

Skaterdude
09-21-2007, 07:25 PM
I have a really deep voice, so it's like low, death metal growling came naturally to me. It took a little practice, but now I can do it pretty well.

RageAgainstTheToyMachine
09-21-2007, 09:43 PM
My (poorly organized and repetitive) guide to screams/growls from April (http://rapidshare.com/files/38352843/screaming.mp3). This one was made for a dude who PM'd me.

I might make a new one with advice for adding roughness/abrasiveness to clean voices. I'm not very good at it yet, but I'm working on a thrash metal vocal similar to early Slayer and Destruction.

I actually learned some things from it when you first posted it. Thats how I learned good black metal stuff.

example..

www.myspace.com/darkrieg

Marevix
09-21-2007, 10:07 PM
I actually learned some things from it when you first posted it. Thats how I learned good black metal stuff.

example..

www.myspace.com/darkrieg

Good to know that my stoned ranting helped someone.

I'm going to rerecord the guide with a script so I'm not constantly repeating myself (I said "for example" twice near the beginning, and there was generally a lot of redundant information).
Some additional techniques I want to cover;
a. Distinguishable growls. The technique I used in the first version used a rounded/skewed mouth orientation that doesn't work well with coherent sentences.